Interview with Lauren: Front of House Volunteer

In the second of a series of interviews Lauren Carpenter tells us about her time volunteering at Front of House of the Museum of Brands.L.Carpenter

Describe your volunteer role

Normally I work on the front desk, which is great because I get to meet a variety of people. I get to greet school trips coming in and seeing what people think of the museum first hand. Last week I was giving out leaflets all over Portobello road. No two days are ever the same!

How would you describe the museum

It’s probably the most varied museum I’ve ever seen. It’s amazing to see how much packaging has changed throughout the years. It’s also great to see products that I recognise from growing up and seeing what they’re like now. Everyone can visit the museum and get something different out of it.

If you could highlight one museum object what would it be and why ?

That’s a difficult question because there is so much stuff that I like. If I had to pick one, it would have to be the London 2012 Olympic biscuit tin because it reminds me of all the great memories from when London hosted the Olympics.

What’s the most encouraging/interesting thing a visitor has ever said to you?

I’ve had so many people come up to me saying how the museum has inspired them to look through their collections at home and see what hidden treasures they have to donate.

What has the next few months got in store for you at the museum?

I’m nearly finished with my degree in French and History so after that I hope to continue volunteering and seeing what else it has to offer.

Leave a Reply

